The Illusion

20140301-230308.jpg

I’m an extremist, in the purest, most innocent meaning of the word. I take no “grey areas”. I have values and morals and standards, just like everyone else. But when it comes to passion, the trueness of this concept comes out to play. While in school, I was called dramatic. I emphasized all that I experienced. Any problem I could not immediately solve: not worth it. Any book I fell in love with: let nothing else stand in my way.
I guess this is my story, how I became attached to a fictional world full of goblins and angels. In a time when I lost all friends and became an introvert, my books would not judge and therefore I held them more valuable than all else. I eagerly thumbed and dog-warred my way though The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Twilight, and more classical reads like Dracula and Frankenstein. I watched as Eragon came to life on the big screen (albeit, saddened by the lack of all I had deemed important) and my hopes and dreams came alive through timeless Disney movies.
The older I grew, the more my passion strengthened. For days on end, I would lose myself in a book, movie or TV show (mostly The Walking Dead and The Vampire Diaries, Charmed and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, to be honest) without thought of food or rest and content myself with the plight of fictional characters that were more real to me than my own family.
It did not even occur to me that religion, the occult and all things “culturally demonic” could be my life’s work until I was a junior in college. After a particularly hard semester, I buckled under the pressure and binge-watched all my favorite episodes (of Grimm and those shows previously mentioned) and had a movie marathon (of vamp flicks and Warm Bodies-love that movie!) and realized that I would never be more happy than with the supernatural creatures I had known and loved my whole life.
So, here I am, making my way through the university system, eating ramen and leeching wifi while I sip my coffee at the local Starbucks where they know me. Not once will I ever look back and regret the decision to so what I love, because this is bliss.

Leave a Reply

