Out of Practice

Since the hubby had to take the car today, I figured I would be productive and clean a little, prepare for the maintanence people and then it’d be close to time for him to come home. But what I didn’t anticipate was that I would blaze through everything on a coffee trip and get things done three hours before he is due to return. So I got to thinking and decided that I would pull out my flute and practice a little.

  I’ve done so maybe once a month since we moved in, but I’m sorely out of practice. Here are the things which surprised me, quite a lot.

The ease with which I recalled fingerings, the way it just felt right to play the notes.

The way my pinkie still cramps up if I keep it on the Eb key/ low C keys.

The beauty of being able to still hit the notes above the staff with accuracy-even though I totally wasn’t prepared.

The way 12/8 really just hates my guts. And I kind of love that.

And I guess, what I’m getting at is that I really missed playing flute, and I don’t think I’ve felt this fulfilled in quite a while. So music therapy will become a very large part of my time from now on. Maybe I’ll get back in the swing of things and go out to buy that B extension. We’ll see. 

 

5 thoughts on “Out of Practice

  1. Ahh the flute! I played the flute in high school and absolutely loved it. I had to sell it during some times of needing cash, and now am on to the bass guitar! Music is a great therapy though; definitely stick with it! πŸ™‚

    1. Flute was a saving grace that I managed to get into and it stuck with me.I always wanted to learn guitar, but for whatever reason, I could never quite “get” it. So for you to play bass, I think that’s quite an accomplishment! I need to haul some music up from storage and get through some older stuff. Right now I’m plopping through piano arrangements haha. Yay for music therapy!

      1. Yes music therapy is some of the best stuff! πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to play the piano! I think it’s so beautiful, but I’ve never really tried. Maybe I should put that on my list of things to learn. I actually play the bass because I can’t quite figure out how to play the guitar or use a pick. This way I can use my fingers, and for some reason that just clicked with me! I’m glad you’re breaking the music out! πŸ˜€

      2. Picks are just so complicated haha I agree with the piano bit. It all makes sense-how to play-in my head and then I get there and have no idea what’s going on haha.

Leave a Reply

