Things, Excitement!

A little while ago I wrote about how my computer crashed and sent all my things-including the story I had been working on for over a year-to the abyss. I wrote about how I had an early edition on paper and that from the ashes I would rebuild. I’ve found that my scenario is the best thing that could ever happen to my creative license. 

As I look over the words that I wrote before, I can see what the editors and publishers saw. I can laugh about the mistakes I made in an eager attempt to get it done, the amateur manner in which my characters behaved. That was not the story I should have written. It was a mess.

So today, instead of fervishly trying to copy down the words that I had written to produce a terrible tragedy of a book, I scrapped the project for real. Not just starting over, but an entirely new story. Sure, the key points are still the same, and my ideas are really similar-but the presentation is completely different. I have new desires and so do my characters.

It will be darker, more believeable, more like the story I wanted to write but failed to before. What’s more, I will be able to say that I’m writing an entirely new story for this NaNoWriMo, because I will be. This time around, I won’t be hanging on to over-used lines and stereotypes but jumping into unknown territory with characters that feel as real to me as people I went to high school with. 

I think this is a great metaphor for my own life. I have a predetermined plan in my head, where I follow a plan that I made ages ago, saying the words that I have heard over and over before. I know that there are options out there, and that I have complete freedom to reach out and take hold of the new and the bold, but I’m so attached to the story I’ve already made. Believe me, I cried so hard when my manuscript disappeared. And I think that’s an entirely acceptable metaphor for life. I fight so hard to keep the outdated parts of me, just for the sake of saying “But see? I did this!” when what I really need to say is “But see? I’m making new paths!” I never like the change that is imposed upon me: graduating, moving, starting new jobs, making new friends, but in the end those changes are the exact reason I want to keep revising my chapters, my life.

So goodbye first draft, it’s been really nice getting to know you, but it’s time for a serious revision.

Hello new draft, I can’t wait to dig in and see where this story leads.

  

7 thoughts on “Things, Excitement!

  1. I’m so excited for you!! What a beautiful post; and it’s making me think about things I’m writing and the way I can view my own life! Great post. šŸ™‚

      1. Thank you, and best of luck with yours as well!! That’s great; I love it when something really good can be taken from something really bad! I can’t wait to see how the writing process goes for you, and the finished product of course!! šŸ˜€

      2. Thank you! And so do I. Although, it’s taken me quite a while to get to this level of acceptance. I think, though, that I need to focus on my life application of this lesson. I get so anxious when decisions need made that greatly affect my future. I need to learn that greater things come when I let old bits go.

      3. Ah, I know exactly what you mean! My dad used to tease me that he hoped I’d never get to a ‘T’ in the road or I’d be stuck there forever. I’ve found I’ve gotten a lot better at just going with the flow of what seems/feels right and then making adjustments along the way. No use worrying over everything; life is much too short for that! Still, it’s hard to do sometimes.

      4. That certainly sounds like me! I can only trust my gut to tell me what my brain doesn’t want to process and go with it. Listening to “me” is the wisest thing I can do sometimes. It’s nice to know I’m not alone!

      5. So very true! You definitely aren’t, that’s exactly how I am too. :0) [I accidentally pressed ‘0’ instead of ) but thought the face was super cute so left it. lol]

Leave a Reply

