Thankfulness, Day 2

Although I could go on and on about my husband for these days of thankfulness, today I want to focus on something different: literacy.

  It is something that I take for granted on a day to day basis, even now as I type this blog post. I have the ability to read and write not one, but two languages (and I’m working on a third). How many people don’t have the ability ot say they can do that for even one? 1 out of 4 children in America will not learn how to read (DoSomething.org). 16% of the world is illiterate (ProLiteracy.org). 

  I was fortunate enough to be a girl whose parents read voraciously. One of the first things I could do was read. And honestly, that’s one of the most important things about being human: being able to understand. Reading creates adventure, creativity, job marketability, education (not only the westernized version, but also education about pregnancy, diseases and ever so much more). Literacy leads to a life less likely to be cut short by poverty or imprisonment. Literacy leads to freedom.

  So as I sit here today writing my novel and my blog and some homework, I am incredibly thankful that I even have that opportunity. By this time next year, I want to have helped someone else in the world become literate, so that they may enjoy the benefits too.

Leave a Reply

