Thankfulness, The 14th Edition

Where to begin. I’ve been typing these blogs for two weeks now and I wanted this one to be about my new job and my life direction. And then yesterday happened. And now, I find myself at a need to say something about all of the above. So while I will get to the thankful part (the ability to make a difference), I must give a little bit of background first.

Yesterday, although I didn’t have class, I got up early, got dressed (complete with my hand-ornament cup of coffee) and prepared myself for an interview. I had confidence, but you know how those things are practically designed to induce fear regardless. (On a sidenote, I’d like to do a blog on the whole process, as I have sat on both the interviewee and the intrviewer side of the table and I think it’s important for people to know what happens.) So, on Friday the 13th, a lucky day for people like me, I walked into my interview and got the job! I am now the Graduate Studies Administrative Assistant for the Department of Anthropology. I work right under the grad program coordinator and she’s the nicest person I may have ever met. Anyway, so the job is mine!

Right after my interview, I went to see a most trusted professor. I’ve been really rethinking my life A LOT and I needed someone who has “been there, done that” to tell me what I needed to hear. So while I’ve been floating down a path of anthropology, I never really felt like I had one path in particular to belong to. I started as a bio student, switched to anth and couldn’t decide between physical or cultural. When I floated to the cultural side, I wanted to study the occult, religion and mythology. more specifically, the etiology of those things. But no one in academia is nearly as interested in those things as I am and I knew I would never get a job doing what I am most passionate about. So I put a spin on my idea and decided to focus on religious extremism and violence. She helped me plot down which direction to take that idea and everything. I owe her my future, basically and I will find a way to repay that debt. I decided to steer myself into international studies and diplomacy, through a joint anthropology and law degree. My future had a direction as of noon yesterday.

And then last night happened. A terrorist attack on Paris, and from what I’ve read, there was one in Lebanon as well. I was in third grade when 9/11 happened here in the States. I didn’t understand what it meant, nor the implications it would have on my life. But Pennsylvania really isn’t that far from Ohio and life changed, slowly at first and then more and more. So I understand that France has changes in store. I offer my prayers and thoughts to them, but also the Islamic community with no ties to ISIL, as they will most likely face prejudices far too grat from far too many ignorant people.

  So if I had any sliver of a doubt that international diplomacy was the direction I wanted to head before, I have absolutely none now. I have found my way to help the world, one peaceful mission at a time.

My heart goes out to those who have perished. 

 

5 thoughts on “Thankfulness, The 14th Edition

  1. Ah, this is a beautiful post. Congratulations again on the job! I’m really happy that you’ve finally been able to narrow down an exact path for your future. That must be a great feeling! πŸ™‚ I know we were just talking about how easy it Could be to make the world a better place, so I won’t get back into it, but I think it’s wonderful you’re wanting to go out there and make a difference. I’m rooting for you, and know you can do it. πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks! It is nice to feel directed. All that time in limbo did a number on my sense of self. Hopefully I can be one of those people who makes it into a position of leadership and then we’ll have conferences, you and I,and just make the world way better.

      1. I’m in 110%! Perhaps you needed that time in limbo to know yourself better and be able to handle the position you’re now in and where it’ll lead you. I know you’ll do wonderfully, and once you’re there we most definitely will have conferences and make the world way better! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

