Thankfulness, Day 15

I’m having such a hard time focusing on what I’m thankful for with concern reaching out for Paris and Lebanon and the victims of the earthquakes, as well as the funeral bombing in Baghdad. It hurts my heart, just as Ferguson did. It took me a good long while to decide what to even write today, as everything just seemed superficial in comparison. And what I inevitably came back to was compassion, empathy and unity.

  (I love this photo!)

Those words sound a lot like the script from V for Vendetta, and although I’ve made a post about Guy Fawkes, there are loads of life lessons that can be learned from those stories. Here is V’s introduction:

But on this most auspicious of nights, permit me then, in lieu of the more commonplace soubriquet, to suggest the character of this dramatis persona. Voila! In view humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the “vox populi” now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified, and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin, van guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition. The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honour to meet you and you may call me V.

Although I love his aliteration, the eloquence is somewhat lost on our generation. So allow me to explain: 

“On this luckiest night, allow me, in place of common name, give a fittingly dramatic pseudonym. A theatrical veteran, chosen as both the victim and villain by the circumstance of fate. This personality, not simply vanity, is an outfit of the “members of the public” now long gone. However, this heroic instance of a long gone struggle stands alive, promising to destroy these bribed and deadly rats, holding vice and protecting the violently vicious and adamant violation of free choice. The only option is vengeance; a blood feud, held as a memorial candle notin vain, for the value and strength of it shall one day clear the steadfast and virtuous of blame. Truly, this soup of words teeters on being too wordy, so let me simply add that it is my very good honour to meet you, and you may call me V.”

I LOVE this introduction. Why? Because it breathes of the hope for a new world-a unified one. One where corruption and terrorism is no longer a thing, but where those who are just and virtuous will regain power and those who are corrupt will be no longer in power. And that’s what we need now. We need peaceful individuals to rise up, creating a unified world where hope, honor and empathy are the currencies, and hate terror and corruption are reduced to nothing. 

  So I guess, today I am thankful for people who agree to try to use love and peace as glue for our world. We are one world, not many countries. We are one human species, not several races (which do not exist). We are united, not split by anger and hatred. And I am thankful for people who also believe that. 

7 thoughts on “Thankfulness, Day 15

  1. Wow this is profound and beautiful! I got thinking about the word diversity and how it sounds like divide and division, but it shouldn’t be that way. Growing up I always loved learning about the different cultures. It turns out that we are not always going to agree on everything, but if we could love and respect everyone it would be a be a better world to live in!

    1. I always enjoyed getting to know the people with the stories-like the ones you could write books about. And I never understood how people could use those differences as reasons to make dividing lines between “better” and “lower”. Obviously I am no longer ignorant about their motivations, but it really is interesting that “div” seems to almost give rise to separation, even when meant in a good way.

  2. So very beautifully put and true!! I absolutely love that quote, “..ideas are bulletproof.” It’s so beautiful and sad at the same time! Well, when put into the whole context of the story and everything. Wonderful post; I hope someday the people who also believe this will by far outnumber those who don’t. Or else everyone changes their thinking this way!

    1. It’s so incredibly frustrating seeing the potential in people and then things like that happen. I really hope we’re right and eventually everyone figures out that peace is a great idea, but until then, I suppose we all just need to keep trying

      1. Exactly. I will never be able to understand the mindset behind being so cruel, or seriously believing there’s some higher power that is wanting you to do that to innocent people. It’s really disgusting. Hopefully one day it will be better!

      2. Thank you! Sometimes it’s like I’m the only one who thinks the answer is that simple and I feel like everyone stares at me with Googly eyes. But if you’re in line and I’m in line, maybe we’re the right kind of crazy!

      3. I’m thinking that we are the right kind of crazy! It is that simple, if everyone could just understand it and think that way and change! We should be running the world. It’d be a great place. 😉

Leave a Reply

