All Eyes on Me

I was watching the debate last night (are you really that surprised?) and I noticed a very horrifying trend. I have watched almost all of the debates (I think I missed an early democrat one) and I have never been more appalled at the display I have witnessed this past week. I knew debates were a sheer and utter debacle, having witnessed 3 that I clearly remember. I wasn’t always aware of what the issues were (the first one I remember: I was 12) but I remember the ads and the ways that the candidates used low-ball tricks and schemes. I was a senior in high school during the campaign season for President Obama’s second term and although I had taken government, I was still only vaguely aware of “what it all meant” but again, I remember the attack ads and smear campaigns. So why was I so surprised this week?

I have decided that I will throw in a candidate from both parties who exemplify my concern for the direction of this election. Nominees for Ring Leader of the Circus of Politics are: Donald Trump (R) and Bernie Sanders (D). Now, I do not know these men, apart from what I can watch in the debates, but the issue I have with them this week is the wording that they chose to use during their discussions. I’ll start with Mr. Trump, because I have a feeling that will be a much shorter rant.

“I guarantee you, there’s no problem.” By now, I’m sure you all have seen memes or the debate itself where Mr. Trump inadvertently mentions his genetalia. Why is that an issue? Because he could be representing our country (or at the very least, for some of my readers, a country which affects yours) and he’s making penis jokes? At a presidential debate? On live TV? Without taking a hit in his numbers? In fact, his numbers literally just keep going up, apparently. Literally anything that comes out of his mouth is like a voter magnet. And that’s concerning on so many levels. I can only hope that if he in fact does become POTUS, that he will tone down his language and will be a morally upstanding citizen. Until then, I will continue to be horrified at the level of bigotry and racism and sheer ignorance spewing from that whole campaign.

Now on to Mr. Sanders. While I have not held many strong opinions about the democratic side, I must say, there were comments made last night that frustrated me to no end. And that’s the reason I decided to post this post today. It started out with Mr. Sanders throwing around the words “crazy” and “lunatic” as though they were common vernacular (and you could argue that they are) but the quote of the night that I bring forth is this:

“We are, if elected president, going to invest a lot of money into mental health. And when you watch these Republican debates, you know why we need to address the mental health.”

What. The. Heck. People give Donald Trump a lot of grief (and rightly so) for mocking an individual with a physical disability. But I just googled the quote (for accuracy’s sake) and people are laughing about it. People are making light of it. Are you kidding me?! Call me a little touchy on the subject, but since when did mental health become a laughing matter? And I plan on being a part of the government (judicial branch, mind you) some day, and I take great pride in being able-bodied with a beautifully divergent mind. In fact, that may be my tag line for election. If there were candidates with mental illnesses, can you imagine the uproar? How offensive that is? Because I can. I’m an individual who will be very affected by the changes in president and I am offended. I will not be taking any obnoxious steps to fix it (I’m not going to sue you, Mr. Sanders) but here’s what I will do. I will post a letter, detailing what it is that makes that quote so awful. I will post it here, and I will hope that maybe it reaches those who will understand my words to be true. And maybe then there will be some progress. Because one man’s ignorance is more than enough for me, but two men’s ignorance is something altogether too much.

6 thoughts on “All Eyes on Me

    1. You’re welcome:)
      I hate calling it a “disability”. Because I’m not-I just think on a different wave length than “normal” people. I’m glad I’m not the only person tired of all these shenanigans.

      1. Oh you aren’t I assure you. I read your letter, but I didn’t comment there because I shared it to my personal FB page. And anonymous and blah blah blah. I also tweeted it to @BernieSanders.

      2. Well thank you so much! You’re so wonderful:) I just want people to stop making “jokes” at the expense of actual illnesses. I had a coworker today say “that’s so schizophrenic” and I just can’t believe that’s what people say.

      3. I hear that. It’s ridiculous and it’s more ridiculous if you are running for the highest civil servant job in our country

Leave a Reply

