Semi-Charmed Life

With the spurt of inspiration prevalent, I’ve picked up an old book idea and I’m running with that. I’m in the last month of my semester, and it’s running away with me. I have an interview at a coffee shop for a summer job, and that’s pretty cool (because you know how I feel about coffee)! And I have a friend date/meeting with my oldest friendship today-at a coffee house. I know I seem a little extreme with the coffee, but it’s delightful. It brings a smile to my face and it’s got caffeine. But anyway.

I woke up this morning and had to decide the order I needed to do things in. Take the dog out: number one. Shower, dress, breakfast, blog, wake up the husband (albeit, not necessarily in that order. It ended up being that my go to way to prepare myself for a coffee date was to, you guessed it, drink my morning cup of coffee. I know, it sounds a little redundant, and I guess that’s entirely fair, but if I’m going to show my inner Lorelai (Gilmore Girls, anyone?) then I might as well be proud of it.

LG
GILMORE GIRLS (Season 2) A – Tisket, A – Tasket (Episode #227463) Roll 51, Frame 15 Pictured: Lauren Graham as Lorelai Gilmore Photo Credit: © The WB / Ron Batzdorff

I am not some wise guru, by any stretch of the imagination. I make mistakes, I change my mind, I buy the wrong kind of corn at the market (sorry, honey) but I live the best way that I can. I drink my coffee strong, I find ways to smile every day-even when I don’t feel like it, I try to be my absolute best. And you know what? Those simple ideas led me to the person I am today.

People are known by the things they hold on the inside. My oldest friend, for instance, I look at her and I see beauty and grace and faith. I look at my husband and see kindness, passion and love (I may be a little biased!). When people look at me, I hope that they see my burning desire to help people, my deep love of rainstorms and sunny mornings (the kind that you see in the “I love, I love, I love you…most ardently” scene from Pride and Prejudice) and a fierce warrior. Those are the things I aspire to, the things that make me who I am. But they are just one part. And that is true of everyone. I have a dorky side that laughs at silly jokes, watches Disney movies on repeat and is really insecure. But no matter how many facets you put together, you still only get to see a part. And I’ll tell you a secret.

That’s my favorite part.

I switched from being a biology major to an anthropology major because I love learning people’s stories. That really shouldn’t come as a surprise. But it’s the knowing that no matter how much I know about a person, I’ll never really know them that fascinates me the most. I haven’t changed since that first time I did ethnographic research. I still love listening to stories. And that’s why I’m going to law school-because with a law degree I can take those stories and give them hope, justice. I am a story activist. Because everyone deserves the chance to be the hero(ine) in their own story, and I can help.

But apart from my personal mission statement, I think it’s positively beautiful that we’re all little snowflakes, little diamonds. Each one of us is so different, but we are all the same. I live for that. It wakes me up each morning and I think that’s how it should be.

snow.jpg

Leave a Reply

