Kafe Kerouac

To be sure, there are few things I enjoy more than coffee. I think I could probably list them on one hand. But I come across as rather a bit of a coffee snob-that is to say that the type of coffee and the quality thereof is something I am particular about. As it would turn out, I was introduced to a gem of a place by a good friend, and I have since become singularly attached to their coffee without fault. And that place, is Kafe Kerouac.

Found on my campus, I am delighted to report that this is everything I’d hoped a coffee shop would be. It has coffee (clearly), but there is a bar, a bookstore, record store, an area for open mic poetry, and there is indie music playing at all times (some of it local-or maybe all of it, except for the NPR sometimes) as well as art from local people for sale. And the coffee? It’s named after authors. I always get the Jane Austen. And the shop itself, gets its name from the author Jack Kerouac. He is most known for On The Road, the pages of which line the walls. There are couches, folding chairs and an outdoor area for patrons. None of the cups are the same and it feels like home.

The thing is though, that there are plenty of things which could be said about it, but it is the atmosphere itself which draws you in. It is a place for artists and coffee connosouiers alike. People come here to hang out, catch up, study, create magnificent pieces of art (or homework, whatever) and everyone is equal. If all the tables are taken, you make room for other people. It is possible to start conversations with strangers and come out the better for it. The cofee, no matter the blend or the cup, comes to you filled to the brim, but no one ever seems to spill. It’s common for people to take a sip before moving to their seat, after having picked from half a dozen types of “milk”.

I’m going on about the specifics again. Seriously, it’s hard not to thrive in the details of this place. Every time I take a look up to survey the general splendor, I find something tiny which makes all the difference. I just caught my eye on the bargain book section- everything under $3. And the way the foam at the top of my cup jiggles with each typo I make (but hopefully have caught.)

I try so hard to not overly romanticize things, and I didn’t post this up on Tuesday when I began it, just because I wanted to look over what I had to say. I have nothing but great things to report. I keep going back, even though it is out of my own personal way (I work next to TWO coffee shops) because it represents everything I wanted it to. The stuff above was written in a semi-caffeine induced mania, but it still holds true. I shall deeply miss Kafe Kerouac when I graduate. Maybe I’ll make special trips back for my birthday.

coffee.jpg

Leave a Reply

