Mental Health Month!

I know I’m a little late. I had a lot on my mind, and it’s taken a while to get beyond my thoughts.

I’m not switching gears, per se, in topics, but I’m returning my focus onto a topic which will always hold a place in my heart. It is the one which gave me a start, and it’s the one that will always remind me of some fundamental life truths. And I guess that’s what I’ll be looking at today.

My “go-to” quote for each and every day is:

“The sun will rise again and so will I.”

It’s just 9 words, but in those 9 words, I find a delightful amount of peace and strength. I’ve used it to give hope to a few people, I have lived by those words as long as I can remember.

Your track record for getting through bad days so far has been 100%

That one is a newer one in my round of repeated sentences, but I think it’s one of my favorites. It’s one of those things that you know, but hadn’t put into words. I like it because it’s a gentle reminder that no matter how bad “it” seems, I can do it.

Just chuck it in the “fuck it” bucket and move on.

I use that one for humor. I take a lot of things pretty seriously and sometimes I have to remind myself to just let it go.

No great mind has existed without a touch of madness.

That one comes from Aristotle. It makes me feel like I have a greater purpose.

It can’t rain all the time.

That one’s from The Crow. I like to think it’s metaphorical, because I love the rain.

You’re a hurricane. But don’t forget to breathe or else you’ll drown in your own storm.

This one speaks to me, simply because I let everything affect me. I’m working on it, but it’s hard.

To quote Shakespeare’s Hamlet act III scene III line 87: “No!”

I love this one for two reasons. One, I deeply enjoy Shakespeare’s works. Two, I think as a young person, as a woman, as an individual with a mental illness, I find it hard (for whatever reason) to say no. It’s like the scene in 27 Dresses when Katherine Heigl is learning how to say no and she accidentally gives away her drink.

I know this wasn’t a super-serious-passionate-rant-about-troublesome-facts. But sometimes it’s important to appreciate life’s little moments.

Leave a Reply

