GISHWHES 2016

 

In light of all that has happened, I wanted to maybe talk about something which is a lot happier, a bit kinder and lighthearted. It’s something I’m doing for the first time this year, and it’s a lot of good spirited fun, combined with a little bit of humanity. I am talking about GISHWHES.

GISHWHES stands for the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen. (I must have an affinity for bizarre acronyms.) It is a week long venture where teams of 15 try to complete a list (of about 100 things) for points in order to win a trip and other prizes. This year’s trip is to Iceland (which sounds awesome). You can sign up as an individual, or as a pre-formed team. You don’t even have to be part of the same state or even country to be on a team (which is awesome). My team is Dean’s-Pie-Hunters. We represent (so far) 5 states and a total of 4 countries. As of this post, we’re working with a team of 14, but someone may be our 15th, making a full team (which is VERY exciting).

So there is still a week left to register, and therefore the list of items cannot be released yet, but there are the lists from previous years, so that you can see what the teams will basically be doing. The list from last year can be found here. GISHWHES is the owner of several Guinness Book of World Records including Largest Media Scavenger Hunt, Longest Chain of Safety Pins, Largest Online Photo Album of Hugs and (my personal favorite) Most Pledges to Complete a Random Act of Kindness. (Verification can be found here.)

Anyway, I’m bringing this up today because of a couple reasons. First, because the world needs a bit more happiness today (and every day). Second, because I get behind what this concept is: working together in a way which promotes international community and acts of kindness. Third, because I’m genuinely excited about it. I’m a huge fan of Misha Collins, I love breaking out of my comfort zone to do things like this, and I’ve been lucky enough to find a group which is both international and competitive. We’re hoping to win, and yet, it’s so much more than that. (There are casual groups, but I wanted to compete lol.)

Anyway, if this sounds like something you’d like to do, there are several options for registration, including a Gish-olarship, which waives your registration fee. And then you too can be a part of the Gish-unity. If you do decide to register, would you mind dropping my email into the referral box? It’s anthromichelle@outlook.com

Thanks! And good luck!

slangaroo(Oh, and P.S.-the mascot this year is a Slangaroo and her baby Joey Jack. If that’s not exciting, I don’t know what is.)

 

gishbus.jpg

(And this is the Gish-bus.)

4 thoughts on “GISHWHES 2016

  1. I thought about entering this year but I don’t have it in me to go even a little bit outside my comfort zone (I don’t even clean my house if other people are in it). I didn’t want to be a drag on a team. I cannot WAIT to read your entries!!!! Good luck and Good GISHWHES! And Dean likes ALL kinds of pie so get out there!!!! lolol

    1. I spent about a month trying to decide if I wanted to push myself that hard. I know it’s a lot to ask of myself, but I know I want to try to be better. But I totally understand not wanting to enter and then not be able to. That’s why I waited so long.
      But thank you! I’m so excited to try out some super art!
      And that’s the reason I joined this group-it’s classy and I loved the name haha
      Thank you thank you thank you!

Leave a Reply

