Hello from the other side.

Greetings all!

I apologize for my absence, but it couldn’t be helped. My brigade of help and I moved our entire apartment on Tuesday. I spent yesterday trying to remember that my limbs were not, in fact, made of noodles and then today trying to clean the old place so that I could come here and find some words which might impart my thoughts.

I’m trying to catch up with all that’s been going on in ya’lls lives, but I thought a lot about what had happened in the last three days and discovered a delightful experience.

For almost 72 hours, I was disconnected from the internet.

Now sure, I did still have internet on my phone, and I did use it a couple times sparingly (to let my Facebook friends know I was still alive) but my phone is so outdated that I really couldn’t do more than that. And I didn’t mind.

So that got me thinking. The first day, I was too busy moving to actually notice the lack of internet. Yesterday, I kept thinking about emails which may arrive, tracking on packages I was expecting and how I missed Netflix. It is only within the last hour or so that I’ve gotten internet back and yet, I checked everything I needed to and feel that I could remain off of it for the rest of the day without very much hesitation.

As a child of technology, I know that I often feel a little constricted by the level of connectedness. I feel pressured into updating everything I am a part of at each moment of change in my life. New place? Better take a picture for Instagram. Better send out a tweet about sore muscles hashtag workout. Update Facebook status. Write blog about the meaning of moving boxes. Complain (wittily) on Tumblr. The list goes on and on. But for three days, I didn’t have the capacity to do so. And I felt so relieved. I felt private and mysterious and adventurous-except for the whole sweaty, sore, sneezing from all the dust thing.

Anyway, I guess the point today is that maybe more people should disconnect from the internet from time to time. I know I’m going to do so more often. This has been absolutely wonderful and made for a great bit of reflection.

2 thoughts on “Hello from the other side.

  1. everything is so instant now. our phones can do everything, the internet is so instant on them, its hard to disconnect, but your right, we all should sometimes. there are lessons to be learned in doing so. XXX

    1. definitely true! Not to be overly nostalgic, but I miss the days when I could freely explore the world without feeling like I needed to also have a bunch of technology with me.

Leave a Reply

