Thoughts, News and Stuff

Alrighty folks, welcome to the weekend!
Thank you to all the people who have stumbled across my thoughts. I try to mention it as often as I can, because I really am grateful and completely humbled.
In the news this week:

Kesha deposits 28 tracks to her producer, drops her sexual assault case and keeps pursuing the emotional/physical assault/abuse charges.

Stanford Rapist Brock Turner has successfully petitioned his way back to his home state. Which just so happens to be my state.

Today is the last day of GISHWHES.

 

I wanted to do a big piece on the realities of Kesha, since she was the catalyst for my own self-revelations and then Rapist Brock Turner is returning to my state-to Greene County more specifically. And while I completely understand 1000000000% about the victim’s statement of Rapist Brock Turner making her nervous, I am still completely appalled at his only serving 3 months. He will be released to probation in less than a month. And then he will be coming here, to my state.

Now, I’m not here to make this about me. At all. In fact, the only thing that can be said is how I am struggling for words to describe the amount of injustice I feel about this case. You can read the news article if you’d like, here. I’ve been awake almost a full 24 hours and it’s been on my mind almost the entire time. I’m not okay with this situation, and I can only imagine how the victim must feel.

I mentioned up top that today is the last day of the scavenger hunt I’m participating in. At 2:00 AM my time (Eastern: UTC-5) the hunt will be over for the year. That means a couple things. First, my sleep schedule will be returning to normal-ish. Second, I can share my adventure with ya’ll-with pictures and links to videos. Third, and ultimately most importantly, I will be returning to my regular work. News and opinions, facts and summations. I just wanted to pop in, say hello, wish you all a lovely, safe day and hope to catch you on the flip side!

Leave a Reply

