Call It What It Is: Injustice

The article I’m focusing on today can be found: here.

Yesterday the article came out which read eerily like one I focused on a little while ago about a certain Rapist Brock Turner.

******A personal statement: Instead of referring to these people as “college students”, “athletes”, “twenty-somethings” or any other adjective, I am calling them by the title they have given themselves by their actions: rapists. I do not apologize for this decided behavior, just as they do not apologize for theirs. I refuse to conform to the media’s manner of “humanizing”. I will call it like I see it. Also, I think it goes without saying, but trigger warning, sexual assault and rape.******

The summary of this article is that Rapist Austin Wilkerson assaulted an unconscious woman. He told his friends he was going to “take care of her” and he ADMITTED to assaulting her while she was heavily intoxicated and “unconscious”. While this story is far from unfamiliar, it is not the injustice I’m calling out specifically. I’m calling out the sentence (or lack thereof) for this case. Rapist Austin Wilkerson was given the sentence of “two years of so-called “work release” and 20 years to life on probation”. (For comparison-the state of Colorado has a “normal” sentence for this crime as: 4 to 12 years in state prison.) He got community service and probation for forcing himself on someone, taking away their privacy and intimacy. He took their confidence, their innocence, their way of looking at the world and all that will happen to him is a finger wag and a “don’t do that again”.
Rapist Austin Wilkerson reportedly changed his story under oath multiple times.

And yet his punishment wasn’t anything more than a time-out.

If you can stomach it, I invite you to read the article and just how much his story changed, his case outcome in comparison to his actions and to reflect on what this means as a whole. What it means for our society, for victims of crimes everywhere.

And I want to highlight the Judge’s thoughts- so that we can examine what it is that led us here. “I don’t know that there is any great result for anybody. Mr Wilkerson deserves to be punished, but I think we all need to find out whether he truly can or cannot be rehabilitated.”

The victim asked for as much mercy as her rapist showed her that night. But justice was not found in that courtroom.

The one piece of solace I take is that at least this young woman had the lawyers she did. Because they did their jobs. One of them even went on record saying: “These young, college-age offenders who perpetrate rape on campus are getting some sort of privileged discount … compared to other violent offenders. We’re not entirely surprised [about the outcome of the trial], but we’re certainly disappointed.”

I can’t sit here and write these responses without feeling the anger and frustration of a hundred thousand women before me, fighting for justice. I can’t sit here and read these articles without listening to the screams of a thousand silenced voices, pleading for their rights. Something must change.

To the victim of this crime, I want you to know that you are not alone. There is an army of people behind you. You have met with the most repulsive depths of the human condition and have risen above it. Always Keep Fighting.

8 thoughts on “Call It What It Is: Injustice

  1. It absolutely makes me sick. I am amazed at the judges comments. Somehow these college boy rapists get a pass. I wonder if the same “justice” would be applied to a man of the same age, who happens to work at Tastee Freeze, rather than being a college student.

    Beyond that, I have no words to express my anger.

  2. I don’t have the stomach for the article. I have heard about the case, but I shy away from getting to in depth with the news as it does tend to trigger me. That said, WTF???? Why does a collegiate rapist and a rapist of the same age (just not in college) demand different sentences? Just because you are in college doesn’t mean you aren’t still a stupid asshole.

    I can’t wait till you graduate college. You are gonna tear this world up.

    1. No, I completely understand. It was difficult for even me to get through. I get to each of these stories with the hope that maybe this one will be different somehow, but then I just see the same pattern. I wait and wonder how soon a story like this will happen at my university. I honestly can’t wait either. If anything, these stories just fuel my need to be actively working in the justice field. I just worry that I can’t be any more successful than the DAs working these cases. That would break my heart.

      1. I went to Penn State in PA and it was a big concern (this was um, awhile ago!) My boyfriend always picked me up from my night classes and belonging to a sorority kept going out partying a little safer.

      2. Sure sure. I remember hearing about some issues from PSU a while ago. I know with school starting back up next week this has me a little wary to say the least, but I know that the more people know, the more people are safe. I’m glad you had people looking after you:) It sure makes things a little better!

      3. Also true. My project (if it gets accepted) has a section for making a phone app to call for help. Like a technological rape whistle. I just hope one day those things aren’t necessary.

Leave a Reply

