My Date with My Husband

Do you know what it feels like to meet a hero? It feels kinda like your favorite coffee being free, always catching the cross walk sign at the right time and let’s be real-you all know I wanted to meet him forever. The reveal would be worthless if there wasn’t a good story to lead into it-so here we go!
Yesterday, the day started roughly on time. My husband asked to go with me to the coffee shop (Kafe Kerouac) that is my favorite (Thanks Amber!!) and we made it a date. That happens so rarely that it was a glorious thing to behold regardless of all the other stuff.

He got an Ayn Rand (all the coffees have author names) and I got a Jane Austen (because she will always inspire me). I sat down and sipped my coffee, in a room full of mostly strangers, apart from my husband and one friend from high school. We stayed for a few hours, and then everything got hectic. Ben left, my friend and I stayed. Then BAM the moment arrived and there was a massive horde of people running down the street, out of the cafe and on their way to the local park-where we could all meet duh duh duh: MISHA COLLINS.

And you can bet I ran my chubby little self all over Columbus to do so.

He was exactly the person I knew he would be. He was witty, he made jokes, his laugh was phenomenal and I still can’t believe that I was a mere two feet from him. Seriously, it plays back in my mind like this bizarre little movie that doesn’t really seem real, but totally was. 

Anyway, I met Misha Collins yesterday (along with like 100 other people) because he drove (with his fantastic brother Darius) all the way acros Ohio to talk about the importance of voting. With Ohio being a swing state, obviously it’s incredibly important that we all get out the vote.

So today, while it probably won’t be the very last thing I say on the subject (especially depending on how today turns out) all I am asking is that you vote.

Now, I know-you may have reservations about the candidates, you may not like the issues, you may feel like you can’t possibly win with the choices in front of you.

So let me tell you something.

Not voting IS a vote. If you feel, honestly, that you are doing your civic responsibility by not voting-then I cannot tell you otherwise. BUT if you are abstaining from voting because you feel like your vote does not matter, I cannot accept that-because it is simply not true. Elections have been won by individual voters. 

Let me tell you what I know.

I know that blogs like this won’t exist freely if DJT wins. I know that my most popular blog-LGBTQIAP+ won’t be as helpful anymore, because being part of that community will be a crime. I know that my future plans-prosecuting rapists and saving people-won’t be as possible because no one at all will want to come forward and be ridiculed. I know that people like me, with my education, opinions and stubbornness will be less tolerated and that isn’t even the fears that are the root of why I’m talking about this.

I’m a religious minority. I know that when the visually different people (read: Muslim Americans) are all persecuted, they will come for the rest of the non-Christian world, myself in it. And I know that there will come a time when people with skin colors darker than mine will be removed from my life, and that will mean some of my family members will be gone.

And you could say that I’m just being paranoid-and I hope you’re right.

But I’m not willing to take that chance.

I’m not telling you how to vote. I’m simply asking you not to vote for DJT. Just consider it.

But no matter what, please vote.


And here’s my proof, that I really did see Misha yesterday, and the one with the phone is his brother Darius.

4 thoughts on “My Date with My Husband

  1. Sounds like fun Michelle! I confess that I had no idea who he was. I had to Google him. For what it’s worth, if I were American I wouldn’t vote for Trump. I’m crossing my fingers and my toes…

Leave a Reply

